Foundation directors and staff joined osteopathic physicians, medical students and stakeholders from across Ohio and the country for the 2015 Ohio Osteopathic Symposium, which was held in Columbus during April. The Ohio Osteopathic Association and the Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine co-sponsored the four-day event, which included the presentation of three prestigious awards.

George L. Eckert, Jr., DO, Mentor of the Year Award

Timothy D. Law, Sr., DO, MBA, an assistant professor of family medicine at the Heritage College, was recognized as the 2014 Mentor of the Year. Established by the Osteopathic Heritage Foundation, the George L. Eckert award recognizes a physician leader for their efforts to guide, encourage and inspire medical students, residents and fellows.

J.O. Watson, DO, Memorial Lecture Award

Heritage College Executive Dean Kenneth H. Johnson, DO, delivered the J.O. Watson, DO, Memorial lecture titled “Reaching the Summit: Leading the Medical Education Expedition.” The annual lecture and award was established to recognize individuals who have made significant contributions to osteopathic medical education and research and to pay tribute to one of Ohio’s most respected osteopathic physicians and a founder of Doctors Hospital in Columbus, Ohio.

Meritorious Service Award

Richard A. Vincent, president and CEO of the Osteopathic Heritage Foundations, was honored with the Meritorious Service Award for his visionary leadership and longtime commitment to improving the health and quality of life in the community through actively and effectively supporting osteopathic medical education and research.