Annually, osteopathic physicians and leaders are honored at the Ohio Osteopathic Symposium (OOS). During the four-day event, co-sponsored by the Ohio Osteopathic Association (OOA) and the Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine, prestigious awards were presented to physicians and leaders who have contributed to the advancement of osteopathic medicine, research and the community.

George L Eckert, Jr., D.O., Mentor of the Year Award
David W. Towle, D.O., MPH, a family physician and executive director of the Adena Graduate Medical Education Program, was recognized as the 2016 Mentor of the Year. The Ohio Osteopathic Association’s George L. Eckert, D.O. Mentor of the Year Award honors physicians who exemplify a compassionate commitment to developing the next generation of physician leaders. This award celebrates an individual who has established a record of consistent outreach toward medical students, residents, and fellows.

J.O. Watson, D.O., Memorial Lecture Award
World-renowned molecular endocrinologist and Goll-Ohio Eminent Scholar John J. Kopchick, Ph.D., delivered the J.O. Watson, D.O., Memorial lecture titled, “Growth Hormone, Mini-Mice, Football, Dirty Shorts, and a New Drug.” This annual lecture and award is an ongoing tribute to one of Ohio’s most respected DOs and one of the founders of Doctors Hospital in Columbus, Ohio. The award recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to osteopathic medicine and research.

2016 Ohio Osteopathic Association Legacy Award
Richard A. Vincent, president and CEO of the Osteopathic Heritage Foundations, was honored with the 2016 Ohio Osteopathic Association Legacy Award. Established in 2015, the award honors long-time leaders who have made important and lasting contributions to the osteopathic profession and community.