Osteopathic physicians, medical students and other stakeholders gathered at the Ohio Osteopathic Symposium (OOS) last month in Columbus. During the event, co-sponsored by the Ohio Osteopathic Association (OOA) and Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine (Heritage College), prestigious awards were presented to physicians and leaders who have contributed to the advancement of osteopathic medicine, research and the community.

The Osteopathic Heritage Foundations wish to congratulate all of the 2018 OOS award recipients, with special recognition of the following:

George L. Eckert, Jr., DO, Mentor of the Year Award
Kevin J. Sage, DO was recognized as the 2018 Mentor of the Year, an award honoring physicians who exemplify a compassionate commitment to developing the next generation of physician leaders. The award is named in memory of Dr. Eckert, a family physician from Columbus who was a mentor and role model to medical students, residents and new osteopathic physicians throughout his 57 years in practice. Dr. Sage is an anesthesiologist and director of the anesthesiology residency program at OhioHealth Doctors Hospital in Columbus, Ohio. In recognition of Dr. Sage’s achievements, the Osteopathic Heritage Foundation provided a donation in support of the OhioHealth Foundation Doctors Hospital Residency Education Fund.  

J.O. Watson, DO, Memorial Lecture Award
Sonia M. Najjar, PhD delivered the J.O. Watson, DO, Memorial Lecture titled, “Discovering a Novel Link Between Fatty Liver and Cardiovascular Disease.”  Dr. Najjar is the Osteopathic Heritage Foundation John J. Kopchick, PhD, Endowed Eminent Research Chair at the Heritage College. This Memorial Lecture Award was established to recognize individuals making significant contributions to osteopathic medicine and honors one of Ohio’s most respected osteopathic physicians and a founder of Doctors Hospital, J.O. Watson, DO. In recognition of her achievements, the Osteopathic Heritage Foundation made a donation to the charity of Dr. Najjar’s choice, St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital. 

Meritorious Service Award
Mike Reichfield, President of OhioHealth Doctors Hospital, was recognized with the Meritorious Service Award. This award is given to an individual in recognition of outstanding accomplishments in the osteopathic medical field. Serving as President since 2007, Mr. Reichfield has demonstrated an exceptional commitment to physician recruitment and outreach. Under his leadership, OhioHealth Doctors Hospital has been nationally recognized by Truven® (IBM Watson®) as a 100 Top Hospital for the past eight years as a major teaching hospital, along with several other national recognitions. Mr. Reichfield has served more than 20 years in senior leadership positions in hospital systems in Ohio, Pennsylvania and New York.

OOA Life Member
Edward W. Schreck, DO was recognized as a new Life Member of the OOA. Dr. Schreck has been an assistant professor at the Heritage College since 1981, providing leadership for the Student Selection Committee, Community Services Program, Pediatric Immunization Project and the Breast Cancer Screening Project. Dr. Schreck serves on the Board of the Osteopathic Heritage Foundation of Nelsonville.