Memorial Tributes

The Foundations' Directors and colleagues are remembered for their commitment to the mission of the Foundations, the community and osteopathic medicine. Memorial tributes have been established in recognition of community service and professional involvement.


John C. Auseon, DO

The Osteopathic Heritage Foundation, in consultation with the Auseon family, established the John C. Auseon, DO Fund for Cardiology Fellowship Education at OhioHealth Doctors Hospital in memory of Dr. Auseon. Dr. Auseon was the founder of the cardiology program at Doctors Hospital and is recognized for his distinguished medical career and exemplary leadership in high quality medical education, patient care and service in the community.


Boyd W. Bowden, DO

Boyd W. Bowden, DO was a highly respected orthopedic surgeon, mentor and teacher and served the needs of the community throughout his career. Dr. Bowden was devoted to his family and community, and was passionate about healthy nutrition and wellness. The Osteopathic Heritage Foundation, in collaboration with the Bowden family, established the Garden Impact Award to support community gardeners and gardens making a positive impact in central Ohio. 

Garden Impact Award

Learn more about the Franklin Park Conservatory's Growing to Green program.


J. Richard Costin, DO

J. Richard Costin, DO was dedicated to his family and spent his professional life serving others through his work as a distinguished surgeon and educator. Dr. Costin was the Board Chair of the Osteopathic Heritage Foundation for over 20 years and instrumental in leading the Foundation to become a highly respected asset supporting osteopathic medical care, research and health and quality of life needs in the community. In 2003, the Foundation established the Costin Institute for Medical Educators at Midwestern University, a program dedicated to the training of physician educators.

Institute for Medical Educators at Midwestern University

Learn more about the Institute for Medical Educators at Midwestern University


George L. Eckert, Jr., DO

The George L. Eckert, Jr., DO Award was established by the Osteopathic Heritage Foundation and the Ohio Osteopathic Association to memorialize Dr. Eckert’s exceptional career. Following his 1953 graduation from the Kansas City College of Osteopathic Medicine, he returned to Ohio and operated a family medical practice. Dr. Eckert cared for thousands and counseled hundreds on community health, education, the practice of family medicine, professional politics and life in general. After retiring from medical practice, he served as the Doctors Hospital Director of Medical Education where he mentored resident physicians.


David S. Fraedrich

David Fraedrich was a resident and avid supporter of Nelsonville, Ohio and was engaged in a number of community and civic organizations, including Doctors Hospital of Nelsonville, Nelsonville City Council, Nelsonville Rotary Club and the 317 Board. In celebration of David's life and in honor of his countless contributions and spirit of community service, the Foundations established the David S. Fraedrich Memorial Scholarship at Hocking College. The scholarship is awarded annually to residents of Athens or Hocking counties who are enrolled in the nursing program.

Nursing Scholarship Fund at Hocking College

Learn more about the fund established at Hocking College


Tiney M. McComb

Tiney M. McComb was devoted to his family and active in numerous community and professional banking organizations, including board leadership on the Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland, State of Ohio Banking Commission, Gahanna Community Improvement Corporation, New Albany Chamber of Commerce, American Bankers Association, Ohio Bankers Association, Ohio 4-H Foundation, Ohio Legal Assistance Foundation and the American Red Cross, Columbus Chapter. In recognition of his significant contributions, the Osteopathic Heritage Foundation contributed to the McComb Family Fund at The Ohio State University 4-H. Over the years, the McComb Family Fund has helped many undergraduates at The Ohio State University realize their educational pursuits in business, finance and economics.

4-H Endowed Scholarship Fund at The Ohio State University

Learn more about Ohio State University 4-H Scholarships


Ruth E. Purdy, DO

Ruth E. Purdy, DO received her undergraduate degree from Ohio Wesleyan University and graduated from the Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine in 1950 when less than 5% of medical students were women. She was one of the first female physicians on the medical staff at Doctors Hospital and recognized for leading the development of the intensive care unit. Dr. Purdy was a highly respected internal medicine specialist, an educator and leader within the medical staff, and an advocate for the advancement of women in the business and medical fields. In recognition of her significant contributions, the Osteopathic Heritage Foundation contributed to scholarship funds in Dr. Purdy’s name at OhioHealth Doctors Hospital and the Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine.

Scholarship Funds

Learn more about OhioHealth Foundation and the Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine


Richard L. Sims

Richard Sims was a former President of Columbus Rotary and a Paul Harris Fellow. He worked for Doctors Hospital for nearly 50 years, serving as its President from 1977 to 1988. In 2014, the Osteopathic Heritage Foundation established the Sims Scholarship Fund to encourage and support graduates of Columbus City Schools in attending an accredited college or university. He is recognized for his commitment and service to osteopathic medicine and the community-at-large.

Endowed Scholarship Fund at the Columbus Rotary Foundation

Learn more about the Columbus Rotary