At the recent Ohio Osteopathic Symposium, Directors of the Osteopathic Heritage Foundations were recognized for their leadership and accomplishments.

Robert Palma, DO, Osteopathic Heritage Foundation Board Chair, received the George L. Eckert, Jr., DO Mentor of the Year Award.  Dr. Palma is a pillar of the osteopathic family and was honored for his long-term commitment to training physician leaders.  Dr. Palma is president/CEO and chair of the Board of Directors of Internal Medicine Consultants, and Internal Medicine program director at OhioHealth Doctors Hospital. Dr. Palma also serves on the Board of Directors of OhioHealth.


Joseph Holtel, DO, Osteopathic Heritage Foundation of Nelsonville Director, was recognized as outstanding alumnus of Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine (Heritage College).  As a primary care physician, Dr. Holtel has devoted his career to serving communities throughout southeastern Ohio.  His recent work includes serving as a physician with Appalachian Behavioral Healthcare and assistant clinical professor at the Heritage College.  


Karen Nichols, DO, delivered the J.O. Watson Memorial Lecture titled, Osteopathic Medicine: Still Blazing a Trail.  The Memorial Lecture was established to recognize individuals making significant contributions to osteopathic medicine and honors one of Ohio’s most respected osteopathic physicians and a founder of Doctors Hospital, J.O. Watson, DO.  During the lecture, Dr. Nichols was joined by Mrs. Jane Watson Cunningham, an Osteopathic Heritage Foundation Director and daughter of Dr. Watson. 

Congratulations to all of the 2019 award recipients.